EPK 2018

Digital Press Area: EPK 06-2018


  • Nereis - Overdrive [Official Music Video]
    01 june 2018

  • Nereis - Two Wolves [Official Lyric Video]
    02 may 2018

  • Nereis - Breaking Bad [Official Music Video]
    27 mar 2018

  • Nereis - Now [live @ Rock Im Ring 2017]
    08 july 2017


  • Listen to TURNING POINT on Spotify

  • Listen to FROM THE ASHES on Bandcamp


NEREIS is a heavy rock band with a metal edge from Trento, Italy. Formerly known as ‘Black Star’, the band changed their name to Nereis in late 2017.

The band was formed in 2007 and in the early years, they spent time playing in the pubs around Trento as a cover band. In 2012 they released their first homemade album of original songs entitled Burnin’ Game. The band immediately began using their booking contacts and lined up various shows and festivals such as the Sun Valley Metal Fest, and several support spots for Chris Slade.

In 2013, the band went through a lineup change that almost would see the band come to an end, if not for the strong will of founding members Sam Fabrello (guitar), Gian Nadalini (bass), and Dave Odorizzi (drums). After a series of auditions, the band’s high standards were met in 2014 with the addition of Andy Barchiesi (lead vocals), and Mattia Pessina (guitar). With this new “perfect” lineup, the band quickly recorded new material and released the From the Ashes EP. During the months after the EP’s release and into early 2015, Nereis performed over fifty live dates all over Italy. In August of the same year the band set out on their first-ever international tour, hitting top clubs throughout Eastern Europe in cities such as Prague, Brno, and Bratislava. The result of heavy marketing and touring, was From the Ashes receiving over 130,000 downloads on the music portal Jamendo, topping the site’s charts.

In 2016, the band began writing their next album while continuing to tour and perform locally with bands such as Arthemis, Riot V, and The Danish Royal Hunt. January of the following year, Nereis began tracking their new full- length album at NoLogo Studio in Laives, Italy. The band continued to tour regionally throughout 2017 while also landing spots at festivals such as Rock im Ring. By the end of 2017, the band’s new album to be titled Turning Point was mixed and mastered by Mauro Andreolli at das Ende der Dinge. Quickly thereafter, they shopped it to several dozen labels, and in January of 2018, the band signed with U.S. based label Eclipse Records (Mushroomhead, Bobaflex, Blowsight).

2018 is shaping up to be a year of promising opportunity for Nereis. With a new album under their belt, the backing of an established record label, and a strong will to deliver great music to the masses, it’s only a matter of time before Nereis becomes a household name worldwide! Nereis’ latest album Turning Point was released worldwide on June 8th , 2018.


Read all here:


  • • “In our journey through the license plate Patamu music could not miss a good dose of heavy metal...” - patamu.com [IT]

  • • “The new way of the Italian metal seems therefore in the hands of these young players in the province of Trento...” - ItaliaDiMetallo.it [IT]

  • • “On this side and beyond the banks of the Adige, as always, you are used to living on facts and not proclamations. The last example in music is represented by the Black Star, new reality metallic boasting among its ranks drummer David Skanners Odorizzi, one that blows of HM the know.” - TrueMetal.it [IT]

  • • “From The Ashes is, unfortunately, an EP...” - Rockit [IT]

  • • “Coming from Trentino they are entrusted with the opening of the evening...” - Live report Roma Daily News: magazine MetalRock [IT]

  • • Article on the newspaper L'Adige2 [IT]







Full Press-Kit